Alex Smith and Andrew Smith wrote & directed the award-winning feature film, The Slaughter Rule, starring David Morse and Academy Award Nominees Ryan Gosling and Amy Adams, which premiered at the 2002 Sundance Film Festival to critical acclaim. The film went on to play all over the world, including New Directors/New Films at the Museum of Modern Art. It won the FIPRESCI International Critic's Prize at the Stockholm International Film Festival and was nominated for the John Cassavetes Indie Spirit Award. Released theatrically by Cowboy Pictures and on DVD by the Sundance Channel, The Slaughter Rule regularly plays on Showtime, IFC and the Sundance Channel. The Smith brothers' second Montana story, Winter in the Blood, premiered at the 2012 Los Angeles Film Festival, and was theatrically released by Kino Lorber in 2013. The film stars Chaske Spencer, Julia Jones, David Morse, Dana Wheeler-Nicholson, and Lily Gladstone. Winter in the Blood won the Best Director and Best Actor awards at the American Indian Film Festival, won Best Narrative at the 2013 Woodstock Film Festival, and was nominated for Best Narrative Feature at the Los Angeles Film Festival. As a screenwriting team, the Brothers Smith were named in 1999 as among Variety Magazine's Ten Screenwriters To Watch. They are currently adapting a Wallace Stegner novel, Remembering Laughter, for acclaimed filmmaker Rodrigo Garcia. They also adapted the graphic novel Son of a Gun by legendary cult filmmaker Alejandro Jodorowsky for Fox Searchlight. They have collaborated with Terrence Malick, Lars von Trier and David O. Russell and have written scripts for Columbia Pictures, HBO, Warner Brothers, Framestore, Disney and ESPN Films. The brothers are currently collaborating on two dramatic series projects with Charlize Theron's company, Denver & Delilah.